The stuff I cared about at E3 and some shit that I didn’t

The Electronic Entertainment Expo came and went last week in Los Angeles. For years I’ve made a habit of catching up on news from E3, as it generally contains some of the biggest unveilings and surprises from publishers and developers alike for the next calendar year. I’m generally too busy to watch the conferences live, but I’ve read up on stuff from the 2012 show and watched trailers for the games I’ll discuss below. I’ve selected some games that got a lot of buzz and games that I’m personally interested in. I also asked Twitter if there were games people wanted my opinions on, so some of those are sprinkled in, as well.

Assassin’s Creed III

What I think: I haven’t played an Assassin’s Creed game since number 2. I watched a lot of Brotherhood be played and have had no contact with Revelations. The popular opinion of the series is that it has completely stagnated. Every game charges you $60 more and adds one small addition to a campaign that’s spiraling around itself. Although Assassin’s Creed III looks like it’s finally moving things in a semi-new direction, I’ve completely lost interest in the series. I probably won’t play another installment unless they take it way into the future (if that’s even possible), or explore an era that has significance for me — and none do. Ubisoft can keep milking this franchise for all its worth, and I’ll keep ignoring the yearly releases. That’s just the way it is.

Beyond: Two Souls

What I like: I’ll buy pretty much any Quantic Dream game on day one. A lot of people were turned off by Heavy Rain because they said it wasn’t a real game. That’s one of the reasons I loved it so much. Not every game has to be a first-person cover-based shooter. Heavy Rain is unlike anything I’ve experienced in a game, and I’ll never forget it. If Quantic Dream can polish that experience in a new title, I’m sure to love it as well. They’re already on a better track with acting now that Ellen Page, whom I adore, stars in it. I hope that she bridges a gap between great hollywood actors and video game acting. A lot of voice actors are incredible, and not every game needs Meryl Streep as a starring character, but if more household-name actors tried video games, the medium could be twisted in an interesting way.

What I’m worried about: My biggest worry is the story of the game. Quantic Dream, outside of Heavy Rain, isn’t really known for its down-to-earth realism. Considering the second playable character in Beyond appears to be a ghost, I can already tell the story might not hook me in the way Heavy Rain‘s did. I’m sure it’ll be interesting either way, but there’s something to be said for a push in ultra realism in games, because it tends not to exist.

Dishonored

What I like: I know I’m not the first person to say it, but it looks like a mash-up of Bioshock, Assassin’s Creed, and Half Life 2 — in just about the best way possible. At this point, I’m not really sure what could go wrong with this game. It looks great, and it appears versatile enough to capture a wide audience.

What I’m worried about: I’m worried that Dishonored won’t be memorable after it launches. This isn’t a huge worry, mind you, but I’m getting flashbacks to when Syndicate launched earlier this year. It looked promising and had a lot of hype behind it. After it launched, everyone forgot about it.

DMC

What I like: I would have sexual intercourse with Ninja Theory’s new version of Dante.

What I’m worried about: Although I’ve played Devil May Cry, 2, and about half of 4, I’ve never been a huge fan of the series. Like I’ve said before, Ninja Gaiden and its sequel (not 3, dear god not 3) still hold my gold standard for third-person, close-quarters melee action. When I play Devil May Cry games I feel like I’m just hitting the stab button for the entire game. There isn’t much strategy. If DMC fixes that, I’ll be head over heels for more than just Dante.

Hitman: Absolution

What I like: Hitman is my favorite game series, so any way I can get more of it is a great thing.

What I’m worried about: This isn’t too much of a worry, but I hope Absolution doesn’t become too linear. The series is evolving into Splinter Cell: Conviction-like territory, which isn’t a bad thing, it just isn’t very Hitman. However, I loved Conviction, so I could be set up for success either way.

The Last of Us

What I like: Especially in this stage demo, I love that the fight is intense. It seems like the player must really feel out a situation and has to plan a way to solve the combat scenario in a way that isn’t running and gunning. It’s also totally gorgeous. Naughty Dog makes the smoothest and most well animated games out there, and The Last of Us looks like it’s raising that bar above Uncharted even further.

What I’m worried about: I’m worried that this will turn into Uncharted 4. The third game in Naughty Dog’s series really turned me off due to its repetitive levels and shoehorned-in combat. If The Last of Us can really make every enemy encounter feel like an intense fight for your life, as the combat was in the Condemned series, then it can be great. It looks much more visceral and real than Uncharted. If it paces itself well, it could be a new franchise that’s hits the ground in a brisk run.

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance

What I like: Everything. Say what you will about Vanquish‘s repetitive combat and ridiculous story —it was a shitload of fun, it was damned gorgeous and it worked smoothly out of the box. I didn’t have to wait a month for patches to play Vanquish; it was just good plain, robot-battling fun. Ever since I finished it, I predicted if Zone of the Enders were to get a sequel, Platinum Games would be the best to develop it. Shortly after I wished for that, they took over Rising. If anyone can make this game fast, fun and fabulous, it’s Platinum.

What I’m worried about: My biggest reservation is that Rising won’t feel like a Metal Gear game. But — you know what — it doesn’t have to. This is Raiden’s own story and the game obviously isn’t going to be stealth-based, such as Snake’s games were. I’m fully supporting this title even if it isn’t the nonexistent Meryl Silverburgh game that I’d rather have.

Project P-100

What I like: This little WiiIU gem looks really charming. I’m not exactly sure what the gameplay will consist of beyond this trailer’s action, but with Platinum at the helm, I have no doubts it’ll be fun. This, in a way, looks like exactly what I’d expect Platinum to make for WiiU — a cutesy game that still features giant robot combat.

What I’m worried about: Seeing as I have no plans to buy a WiiU, my main concern here is the game is doing nothing to bring me closer to purchasing the console.

Splinter Cell: Blacklist

What I like: It looks just like Splinter Cell: Conviction.

What I’m worried about: It looks just like Splinter Cell: Conviction.

But seriously: It looks like a hearty mash up of Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow (outdoor environments) Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory (vicious knife kills) and Conviction, which isn’t a bad thing at all. I am beyond pissed about Michael Ironside not voicing Sam Fisher this time around. Because Ubisoft made the conscious decision to go on without him, they might as well have given the series a light reboot with a new lead character. I’d rather have that than an existing character with a new voice and new body movements. Imagine if someone other than David Hayter did Solid Snake’s voice. Ironside has been with the series since the beginning. I keep hoping this is some elaborate hoax and the “new” Sam Fisher turns out to be old Fisher’s son or brother or it’s a dream or some alternate universe. Then I’d be less apprehensive about it.

Tank! Tank! Tank!

What I like: I have done absolutely no research on this game other than watching this trailer. It has different-colored tanks, so I guess that’s cool.

What I’m worried about: It looks like an entire game made from a Mario Party minigame. If Namco charges more than $15 for this, it’ll surely Tank! Tank! Tank!

Tomb Raider

What I like: I’m glad Lara Croft is getting a reboot. Although I’ve enjoyed a hefty handful of the Tomb Raider games, I never really take anything away from them. I play one, enjoy it and forget it.

What I’m worried about: I have the same worry with Tomb Raider as I do with a lot of E3 2012 games — that it’ll turn into another cover-based shooter. If Tomb Raider can keep up a pacing that’s more about survival and discovery and ditch constant sections of shooting enemies with a bow and arrow, I think it’ll be better of for it. What is it with developers thinking players need to be shooting something in the head at least once every two minutes, or they’ll get bored?

Watch Dogs

What I like: Although I bet we won’t see this game for years, it has a lot of elements that flag my interest immediately. If you rolled up Hitman, Assassin’s Creed, Grand Theft Auto IV and sprinkled a little Deus Ex: Human Revolution on top, this is what would come out of the oven. I hope the game is mostly about planning open-world hits and isn’t an open-world, yet linear title, such as Mafia II. The AI and player interactions with the world look complicated and incredible.

What I’m worried about: I hope Watch Dogs doesn’t devolve into Grand Theft Auto IV with more cover shooting. I was interested in the demo up until it turned into cover-based shooting in the streets with a flee from police at the end. Boring. However, if you can play it any way you want, in a Crysis or Hitman sort of way, then that’ll be fine. That way, smart, tactical players can pull off hits smoothly and run-and-gunners can be satisfied, too. If it’s balanced well and doesn’t pad out gameplay with too much open-world stuff, we could have a fresh hit on our hands. Also, I’m slightly terrified for how it’ll look on consoles.

ZombiU

What I like: With Left 4 Dead and Dead Island on Xbox 360 and PS3, Nintendo has been left in the dark with zombie games. Thank goodness Ubisoft stepped in to fill that gaping hole.

What I’m worried about: It’s yet another zombie game. It has gimmicks that feature the WiiU controller functionality, so it’s totally different than all those other zombie games. Right?


Other Stuff

This E3 wasn’t exactly an explosion of new content. Aside from Watch Dogs, there wasn’t much to be surprised by. I left E3 coverage irritated by a few personal, yet completely unrealistic expectations — there was no mention of Mirror’s Edge 2, no reboot for the Dino Crisis franchise, and Crytek didn’t drop the news that they really are developing Timesplitters 4. I will not shut up about them until they’re unveiled.

Oh well. I guess there’s always next year.

Leave a comment